History and Presidents 2010-11

   Located in Tucson, The University of Arizona is one of the leading public research universities in the United States. Founded in 1885 as the state’s land-grant university — nearly three decades before Arizona became a state — the thirteenth territorial legislature approved $25,000 for building The University of Arizona. The first classes convened in 1891, when 32 students and six teachers met in the original building now known as Old Main, on 40 acres of land.
   The University developed in accordance with the Act of Congress of July 2, 1862, known as the Morrill Act. This legislation created the land-grant colleges and enabled the institution to obtain federal funds for its original schools of agriculture and mines.
   The 40-acre campus of the 1890s has grown to 391 acres and 185 buildings. Its purpose remains, in the language of the original law, “to provide the inhabitants of this state with the means of acquiring a thorough knowledge of the various branches of literature, science, and the arts,” and, insofar as possible, to provide a technical education adapted to the development of the resources specific to Arizona.

   The University is maintained by funds appropriated by the State of Arizona and the United States government, by fees, and by gifts and grants from many sources.

   For a more detailed history, please visit: www.arizona.edu/home/history-traditions.php

1890-1894   Frank Arthur Gulley - Dean of the School of Agriculture and director of the Agriculture Experiment Station
1894-1895   Theodore B. Comstock - 1st president
1895-1897   Howard Billman - 2nd president
1897-1901   Millard Mayhew Parker - 3rd president
1901-1903   Frank Yale Adams - 4th president
1903-1910   Kendrick Charles Babcock - 5th president
1910-1911   Andrew Ellicott Douglass - Acting president
1911-1914   Arthur Herbert Wilde - 6th president
1914-1921   Rufus Bernard von Kleinsmid - 7th president
1922            Francis Cummins Lockwood - Acting president
1922-1927   Cloyd Heck Marvin - 8th president
1927-1928   Byron Cummings - 9th president
1928-1936   Homer LeRoy Shantz - 10th president
1936-1937   Paul Steere Burgess - 11th president
1937-1947   Alfred Atkinson - 12th president
1947-1951   James Byron McCormick - 13th president
1951-1971   Richard Anderson Harvill - 14th president
1971-1982   John Paul Schaefer - 15th president
1982-1991   Henry Koffler - 16th president
1991-1997   Manuel Trinidad Pacheco - 17th president
1997            Paul Sypherd - Acting president
1997-2006   Peter Likins - 18th president
2006-2011   Robert N. Shelton - 19th president
2011-          Eugene G. Sander - 20th president